Posted in Skin Care and Make Up Review

Mario Badescu Drying Lotion Review

I welcome 2017 with a goal to use less makeup and invest on skin care products. I’m turning 30 this year and I thought it’s about time to revamp my skin care routine. I have had breakouts time and again but last December was the worst. I had small bumps all over my face and acne around my forehead and cheeks. To make matters worse, my skin was dry yet oily! I was on the brink of feeling sad for myself (a hyperbole but not really LOL).

So I thought of investing on acne spot treatment (I’d say invest because I don’t usually buy skin care products this expensive). I watched videos and read articles online and them bloggers were raving about Mario Badescu Drying Lotion. It is said to be “Formulated for troubled complexion, helps out surface blemishes and balance oil in the skin. Contains natural ingredients to help draw impurities from the skin”. Sounds promising to me.

I bought this from Rustan’s for PhP 1300, a bit pricey but hey that’s skin care! I was thrilled to use it the first time because of its “promise” and I was hoping it would live up to it. The main ingredients are salicylic acid and calamine. I did my research about calamine (and I don’t usually check the ingredients too but well, the goal is to get to know the products that I put on my skin). It’s an ingredient that is intended to soothe itching, pain, & discomfort.  It goes without saying, Salicyclic acid is commonly known for treating acne by reducing swelling.

HOW TO USE:  Without shaking the bottle, I dip a Q-tip until it reaches the calamine (pink powder at the bottom of the bottle). (After washing my face & applying moisturizer) I dab a little amount of the product on the pimple. I start off with the larger pimples & work my way to the smaller bumps. There is a tingling sensation at first but it is not uncomfortable & probably just an indication that it’s working.

When I woke up the morning after, the pimples were visibly smaller. I continued to use it every night & I noticed the pimples dried up on the 3rd day. On the 1st and 2nd week, the whiteheads around my nose area surface and skin looked even drier. 😥 However, it gradually improves through time. I’m on my 3rd week and my skin looks visibly clearer. Yay!

I’ll continue to monitor progress and shall update this post as I see fit. 🙂

Leave a Reply

